Wednesday, 19 March 2014

Blog Tour Review & Giveaway: Third Degree by Julie Cross


I'm excited to be part of the Blog Tour for Third Degree by Julie Cross because I loved this story! This tour is hosted by AToMR.  For a complete tour schedule click HERE.  As part of my tour stop I have my review as well as the lovely giveaway provided by the publisher.



Third Degree by Julie Cross
Publisher: Flirt Random House
Publication Date: March 25th 2014
New Adult Contemporary Romance
Rating: 4 Stars









Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.

But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.


My Thoughts:

Third Degree was very different from the cookie cutter New Adults out there, different in a good way.  This story was first and foremost a romance, a swoony one with some definite heat. But it was also a story about fitting in, being “normal”, and the emotional effects when you don’t.

Isabel Jenkins is a genius and regarded as a bit of a freak. She’s already an MD at the age of eighteen having skipped most of her high school and in college by age twelve. Isabel is looking forward to entering into the surgical program at John Hopkins when her psyche evaluation gets her sidelined and rejected.  The doctor doesn’t think she has the emotional maturity and real life experience to handle the job. To Isabel, patients are just cases that need to be diagnosed, and she fails to see the human side of things.

Isabel is completely upset and decides to go back to school, and get the “normal college experience” by taking meaningless classes, making friends, and fitting in. Getting the real life experiences the doctor requires while she has to wait the mandatory six months to retake the exam.

College and fitting in is more of a challenge that Isabel expects, but her gorgeous RA, Marshall is ready and willing to help. He doesn’t seem bothered by Isabel’s oddities.  Marshall just seems to get her and Isabel definitely clicks with him.

This all sounds so superficial when you read the blurb or my description above, but this story went deeper and included issues I wasn’t expecting. Both Marshall and Isabel were dealing with things that impacted their self-perception.  Isabel was painfully awkward to the point of making me cringe at first.  I loved how Marshall helped her along the way without trying to change her inherently.  Marshall had his own issues which I won’t spoil, but Isabel was there for him, and I loved how they seemed to balance each other out, and lent support, because they both desperately needed it. Julie Cross introduced some real life problems, handled them with heart, and a doses of humor that made me smile.

I loved Isabel and Marshall’s romance.  It was tentative at first, but intense and passionate in all the right places! Very hot!

Third Degree is touching story that tugged at my heart strings, and stirred my emotions.  Julie Cross wrote a New Adult romance without the usual clichés, and it completely worked for me!

 







Advance praise for Third Degree

“With quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and a touching romance, Third Degree is a refreshing entry in the New Adult genre. I can’t wait to read what Julie Cross comes up with next!”—Roni Loren, bestselling author of Need You Tonight

“I fell for quirky, brainy, socially awkward child prodigy Izzy and even more so for her sweet, compassionate, and hot RA, Marshall. I was rooting for their happily-ever-after and was sighing with satisfaction by the end.”—Christina Lee, author of the Between Breaths series

“Loved! Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door and Tammara Webber’s Easy will fall hard for this book.”—Krista Ritchie, co-author of the Addicted to You series



About the Author:  Julie Cross lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former gymnastics program director with the YMCA. She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and New Adult genres. She’s also a committed (but not talented) long-distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.



Connect with Julie Cross:







As part of this tour the publisher has provided this awesome giveaway.  Simply fill out the rafflecopter below for a chance to win!


(1) Flirt Tote Bag and (1) Flirt Coffee Mug
(1) $25.00 Gift Card to the Retailer of you choice
 

a Rafflecopter giveaway


http://atomrtours.com/
 

20 comments:

  1. First! Is that Katy and Daemon (Pepe) I see on the cover? Those two are EVERYWHERE!! Anyway, I like the sound of this book. I always perk up when an NA book breaks the mold a bit. I love a good romance, but I'm really interested in Isabel and her growth in the story. I hadn't' heard of this one, but I'm enjoying this trend of YA authors writing NA. I hope it brings something fresh! Great review.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know this couple is everywhere! Not how I picture the actual couple in my head. This was a departure from the usual NA in a very good way. Thanks, Lauren! :)

      Delete
  2. So good to hear that it's not the same old, but explores something new. The couple seems adorbs! It's not dual POV right? I know that Julie Corss supposedly writes amazing guy POV. Can't wait to read something by her. Tempest and Vortex are on my shelf already so perhaps I'll start with those. So happy that you enjoyed, Rachel:)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved Tempest, Siiri, and this romance as well. No this isn't dual POV but I didn't mind it. :)

      Delete
  3. I absolutely love it when new adult books stay true to their theme and this one sounds really good. Isabel and Marshall look like a really cute book and I shall definitely be checking out Third Degree. Thanks for sharing Rachel! :)

    Janhvi @ The Readdicts

    ReplyDelete
  4. When it comes to New Adult I've been in a bit of a slump, unable to connect with characters or being irritated by overused tropes. I've been curious about Cross's work, though, and this seems like a promising way to break out of my New Adult rut, so hopefully I'll enjoy it as much as you have, Rachel! Wonderful review, as always dear!(:

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't heard of this one before and I love the sound of the romance, Rachel. I also like how the main character is a doctor. I don't think we've seen one in NA before. I'm glad you enjoyed this. I'll be checking it out!
    Lovely review, Rachel.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I've never heard of this one before, but it sounds like this is a pretty solid read. I love when NA takes us in a bit of a new direction and pushes the bounds, and it sounds like this does so...wonderful review, Rachel! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thank you for your thoughts on THIRD DEGREE. I'm so glad you enjoyed Isabel and Marshall.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thaniks for having me on the tour! :)

      Delete
  8. I grabbed a copy of this awhile back for review and I am actually looking forward to it after reading your review. Finally a NA that isn't cookie cutter! I am so over the drama and angst!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Actually, that sounds a little bit adorable! I love quirky characters and Isabel reminds me a bit of Sheldon from The Big Bang Theory (do you watch that?) so I'll probably love it. Plus, yay for an NA that's different from all the others!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I thought of Doogie Howser, but Sheldon is perfect, too. And yes, yay for a different NA! :)

      Delete
  10. Wow an MD at 18! That's awesome! I understand how that would make her feel like she doesn't fit in though and I like how this one seems to not be just another same old same old when it comes to NA books. I have also enjoyed all other books by Julie so I've had my eye on this one. I'm glad that it has depth and emotional content that you wouldn't think from just the blurb. Great review, Rachel!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I loved Tempest by Julie Cross, too, Giselle. I just need to finish the series. And thanks! :)

      Delete
  11. This looks so good, Rachel! I'm really glad you enjoyed. Nice review!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am in the mood for new adult novels lately, so this one goes on my list asap. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Great review, Rachel.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I haven't read this but I think it's a good thing that the doctor rejected Isabel - otherwise, she wouldn't really throw her books away and try living her life for real. Lovely review, Rachel!

    ReplyDelete
  14. aww hehe this does sound different and kind of nice! I wouldn't mind awkward characters at all.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I loved this one Rachel. I totally thought it was different, from the medical aspect and how Isabel isn't considered to be normal and without feeling. She felt outcasted because she finished school early and everything. I really felt for her, but I did love Marsh, he was the perfect person for Izzy! Lovely review, Rachel! :)

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...