Wednesday, 10 June 2015

Blog Tour: The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi



Hi all, today as part of The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi Blog Tour hosted by The Fantastic Flying Book Club. But first here's a little about the book. 


Publisher: Harper Teen 
Publication Date: June 16th 2015
My rating: 3 stars 
A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti! Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life. But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan. And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of. Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future. In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.
Goodreads | Amazon The Book Depository

The Night We Said Yes was a book about missed chances and making the best out of the opportunities you’re given.  I liked the idea of having one night where you said yes to everything no matter what. Ella hadn’t been through the best few months, the guy that she thought was the love of her life just upped and left with no explanation and no one could get a response out of him either. So when Matt turns up out of the blue, the night we said yes is definitely what Ella needs.

I really felt for Ella, she had the magical perfect sort of relationship with Matt that all girls dream of, but then when he unexpectedly skips town, Ella is left heartbroken. So when she finally sees him after what seems like ages later, Ella of course demands to know what happened. I’m glad that Ella was one of those girls that stood her ground, she had been treated in the worst possible worse way and so of course deserved answers. Also the Gibaldi flipped between chapters; between the here and now it was obvious that their relationship was one that just couldn’t be forgotten. And also I needed to know what Matt’s reason was, why did he think it was okay to leave town and Ella behind? To be honest I didn’t really buy Matt’s reason for leaving town, yes a lot of things had gone downhill for his family and their reputation, but he could have left some sort of explanation for Ella instead of coded messages which didn’t even make sense. But after getting to know Matt’s character more as the book progressed, I could understand why Ella fell for him in the first place and why she couldn’t switch her feelings for him either after everything that she’d been put through.

I adored learning about Ella and Matt’s relationship through the alternative here and now chapters, to be honest I loved the after chapters more, but at the same time I was dying to find out how things were going to go down in the now. Ella’s friends Jake and Meg also brought a lot of fun to the story too; they were more outgoing characters than Ella, so you never knew what you were getting when they would be around. Overall The Night We Said Yes, made me want to go out and live life to the fullest and to make the most of whatever life throws at me. 


GIVEAWAY
Details: Win an ARC of The Night We Said Yes and some swag (US Only)

a Rafflecopter giveaway
ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Public librarian and author of THE NIGHT WE SAID YES (HarperCollins / HarperTeen, June 16, 2015) and MATT'S STORY (a The Night We Said Yes Novella, out August 2015). Fan of dinosaurs and cheesy jokes. And you.





14 comments:

  1. I have a feeling I'm going to have tough time buying Matt's reasons for leaving as well Jasprit, I tend to hold a mean grudge. I love that Ella stand her ground though and demands answers, she sounds like my kind of girl! Thanks for your thoughts on this one:)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the sound of this one. I like books that alternate back and forth and Iike piecing everything together. I will be on the look out for this one.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have this one on my Kindle and I was so hoping it would come up as our book of the month for the club. But alas I will have to try and read it in the next couple of weeks. I'm in the mood for romances for the nice weather we are having. Lovely review. :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I really hate it when that happens, either! What's the use of sending coded messages when there's no need for it? Why force drama that way? It feels quite contrived if you think about it... a simply message about needing time and space and having family problems would have been enough, right? Haha.

    In any case, I'm glad that in the end you still ended up liking this one, Jasprit! No doubt I'd fall in love with their relationship too (sans the coded messages part).

    Faye at The Social Potato

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think this one will make an interesting read, though I'll probably struggle with Matt's reasons too. Nevertheless, I've read a lot of complimentary reviews of this one, so I'll have to give it a go. Because curiosity is my credit card's worst enemy!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm not sure I'd be able to entirely immerse myself in this one because of the style, but I'm glad you enjoyed it, Jasprit! I hadn't heard much about this one before so thanks for putting it on my radar. I probably won't pick it up but I'm glad I've gotten to know more about it in case I'm in the mood for a read like this. Lovely review, dear!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I just finished this one last night and I was surprised by how much I liked it. The book was so well-written. I was mad at Matt for how he left things but he was hard not to fall for. Ella I loved from the beginning.
    I'm glad you enjoyed this, Jasprit.
    Lovely review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Ahhh, I really want to read this book! I think a lot of people have not liked the reasoning for Matt's departure/not telling Ella, but I hope I get can past that to enjoy the romance. I love the idea of the alternating chapters and two nights of falling in love. :)
    Lovely review!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Why do I get the feeling this does not have a HEA?

    ReplyDelete
  10. Love the second chance theme of this one

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm not sure if this will be a "me" book since alternating chapters often aren't for me, but I love the sound of Matt and Ella's relationship. And if you really get WHY they fell for each other in the first place... Infinite bonus points!

    ReplyDelete
  12. Stunning post Jasprit. <3 Love your review. I'm glad you liked this book, despite some issues :D The cover is so pretty. But yeah, not a book for me ;p Thank you for sharing about it. <3

    ReplyDelete
  13. It’s great that this book make you want to live life to the fullest; I love when it happens. This flipping between chapters can be tricky, though. Lovely review, Jasprit!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I didn't like this book at all when I first read it, it was actually a DNF for me :/ The many perspectives were just too much for me. The second chance romance aspect sounds cute though, wonderful review as always Jasprit <3 Benish | Feminist Reflections

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...